How To Delete Cash App Account

How To Delete Cash App Account is useful for transferring money easily to friends, family, or other contacts directly from your phone, similar to Venmo. However, since Cash App is linked to your bank account, if you want to delete it whether because you found another app you like better, or because you don’t use it anymore you can’t simply delete it from your home screen like a regular app.

How To Delete Cash App Account
How To Delete Cash App Account

How To Delete Cash App Account

To get rid of Cash App, you need to permanently delete your account before you delete the app itself. Here’s how to delete your Cash App account on iPhone, iPad, or Android.

What To Know

  • Before closing the account, tap Cash Out on the app’s home screen to move funds out of your account. 
  • Profile icon > Support > Something Else > Account Settings > Close Account > follow prompts.
  • Delete the app from your phone once your account is closed.

This article explains how to delete a Cash App account without losing any funds that you may have.

How To Delete Cash App Account
How To Delete Cash App Account

The 3 Steps to Delete a Cash App Account

How To Delete Cash App Account Removing the Cash App mobile app from your phone or another device won’t actually delete your Cash App account; it will still exist until you shut down your entire account from Cash App itself. Before you can do this, however, you need to make sure you’ve transferred all funds out of your account. In short, the steps are:

  1. Empty the account of all money by transferring the funds elsewhere.
  2. Delete the Cash App account.
  3. Remove the app from your device.

The sections below provide step-by-step instructions for each of these actions.

Transfer Cash App Funds

To empty funds out of your Cash App account, you’ll need to open the app and log into your account.

  1. When you first log into your app, you’ll see the main page where you normally can make or request a payment.
  2. Select the house icon at the lower left to switch to the Cash App home page. This is where you’ll find the option to transfer your balance to your bank account by tapping Cash Out.
  1. Follow the Cash Out instructions in the app to complete the funds transfer and empty your account funds.

Delete Your Cash App Account

Once you’ve emptied your Cash App account, you’re ready to finally delete it. The option to delete the account is buried inside a few layers of menus. Follow the steps below to find it and initiate your Cash App account deletion.

  1. From the same home screen where you cashed out your account, select your Profile icon at the upper right corner of the screen. This will open your profile page. At the bottom of the list of options, tap the Support link.
  2. This opens the Support page with a list of common help options. The option to close your Cash App account isn’t listed here, so you’ll need to tap Something Else to continue to the next page of options.
  3. The next page is where you’ll find more account options. This is also where you could also tap Cash Out to transfer your Cash App balance to your bank account if you haven’t already. Otherwise, tap Account Settings to move on to the Account Settings page.
  1. To start this process, tap Close Account > Close my Cash App Account.
  2. This will take you to a page with more information about what it means when you close your Cash App account. Read all of this carefully to ensure that you really want to close your account. If you’re sure, tap the Confirm Closing Account link at the bottom.
  3. Once you’ve confirmed your account closure, your Cash App account will be deleted. After this, your $Cashtag (Cash App’s user ID) will no longer exist. If anyone attempts to send you money at this point, they’ll receive an error.

1 Comment

  1. […] can claim PCI-DSS level 1 certification — the highest level of compliance with a set of standards designed to ensure companies store, transmit, and process credit card data to the highest standards. The app […]

Leave a Reply